Cheesy Zucchini Rice

 

 

 

Recipe from Melskitchencafe.com

 

Oh how I love zucchini and squash and I think you can make this with either…the plus is that my kids didn’t know they were eating zucchini and they normally won’t eat it or squash…but they LOVE cheese and rice.  It was fabulous and a nice change from normal rice.

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup long-grain white rice
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 medium or 2 small zucchini, grated on a box grater or with a food processor (no need to peel beforehand)
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
Salt and pepper, to taste
1-2 tablespoons milk, if needed

DIRECTIONS:
In a medium saucepan, combine the rice and chicken broth. Bring the mixture to a boil, reduce the heat, cover and let the rice simmer for 15-20 minutes until the rice is tender and most of the liquid has been absorbed.

Remove the rice from the heat and stir in the grated zucchini, cheese, and garlic powder. Add salt and pepper to taste (don’t skip this step – I needed at least 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of salt to boost the flavor). Add a tablespoon or so of milk to adjust the texture if needed. Serve warm.

About melsorens

I'm a mama and wife who likes to cook and they all like to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.