Chicken Enchiladas

Recipe from myrecipes.com

 

I usually make my mom’s classic cream of chicken enchiladas with sour cream so I felt like I was going against what I had been raised on but I gotta say I really like these.  I did think the flavor wasn’t as strong as I’d like so I did add some cumin to the filling and that helped.  Anyway, I would make these again..maybe more than the cream of chicken kind…shhh don’t tell my mom.

  • 1 cup diced sweet onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 2 cups chopped fresh baby spinach
  • 2 (4.5-oz.) cans chopped green chiles, drained
  • 3 cups shredded cooked chicken
  • 1 (8-oz.) package 1/3-less-fat cream cheese, cubed and softened $
  • 2 cups (8 oz.) shredded pepper Jack cheese
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 8 (8-inch) soft taco-size flour tortillas $
  • Vegetable cooking spray
  • Tomatillo Salsa

Preparation

  1. 1. Preheat oven to 350°. Sauté onion and garlic in hot oil in a large skillet over medium heat 5 minutes or until tender. Add spinach and green chiles; sauté 1 to 2 minutes or until spinach is wilted. Stir in chicken and next 3 ingredients, and cook, stirring constantly, 5 minutes or until cheeses melt. Add salt and pepper to taste. Spoon about 3/4 cup chicken mixture down center of each tortilla; roll up tortillas.
  2. 2. Place rolled tortillas, seam sides down, in a lightly greased 13- x 9-inch baking dish. Lightly coat tortillas with cooking spray.
  3. 3. Bake at 350° for 30 to 35 minutes or until golden brown. Top with Tomatillo Salsa.
  4. To Make Ahead: Prepare recipe as directed through Step 2. Cover and chill overnight. Let stand at room temperature 30 minutes. Uncover and proceed as directed in Step 3.
About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

