Steak and Fontina Cheese Panini with Chimichurri Sauce

From: joyfulhealthyeats.com

I posted a little bit ago the chimichurri sauce my friend Megan makes and then I saw this recipe so I had to try it with her sauce.  It was AMAZING!!  The perfect mixture.  I made it for the family and my kids didn’t love it, but my husband and I LOVED it so next time I’ll be making them just a grilled cheese and these will be ours. Bon A petit!

Ingredients
  • 2 lbs. of fajita skirt steak
  • 1 loaf Sourdough Bread, sliced
  • 8 slices of fontina cheese
Chimichurri Sauce:
  • 1 cup of fresh parsley
  • ¾ cup of fresh cilantro
  • ¼ cup of fresh oregano
  • 2 teaspoons of red pepper flakes
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • ¼ cup of red wine vinegar
  • ½ cup of olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
Instructions
  1. Prepare fajita skirt steak and slice. {for grilled fajita skirt steak recipe – click here}. Set aside.
  2. Prepare Chimichurri Sauce. In a blender add fresh parsley, fresh cilantro, fresh oregano, garlic cloves, red pepper flakes, lime juice, red wine vinegar, olive oil, and salt & pepper. Blend until completely combined.
  3. To assemble the panini, layer ½ cup of sliced fajita steak, 2 slices of fontina cheese, and 1½ tablespoons of chimichurri sauce on a slice of bread. Top with another slice of sourdough bread.
  4. Repeat this process for the other 3 sandwiches.
  5. Place in panini press and grill for 3-4 minutes or until cheese is melted. {if no panini press use an indoor grill or skillet to cook panini}
About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

