Clam Chowder with Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

By Better Homes and Garden:
Being from the Northwest I love love love clam chowder.  It’s been so cold today at our house and it just seemed fitting to make clam chowder with some good biscuits.  While I love my mom’s recipe I thought I’d try a new one which I absolutely loved…so I will pass this along to my mom.  If you are finding yourself chilly and you like clams, this will hit the spot!
Ingredients
1. 1 1/2 pints shucked clams or three 6.5 oz cans minced clams (I used canned)
2. 6 slices of bacon
3. 1 1/2 cups chopped onion (3 medium) (I used half of an onion)
4. 3/4 cup finely chopped celery (3 stalks)
5. 1/2 cup dry white wine (I didn’t have any white wine so I used a couple of Tbl of white vinegar and the rest water)
6. 2 tsp instant chicken bouillon granules
7.  3 cups chopped, peeled potatoes (3 large)
8. 1 1/2 teaspoons snipped fresh thyme
9. 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
10. 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
11. 3 cups milk
12. 1 1/2 cup whipping cream
13. 3 TBL all-purpose flour
14. 3/4 cup shredded Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese or Parmesan cheese (3oz)
directions1.If using, chop fresh clams, reserving juice; set clams aside. Strain clam juice to remove bits of shell. (Or drain canned clams, reserving the juice.) If necessary, add enough water to the reserved clam juice to make 1-1/2 cups total liquid; set aside.

2.In a 4-quart Dutch oven cook bacon until crisp. Remove bacon, reserving 2 tablespoons drippings in pan. Drain bacon on paper towels; crumble bacon and set aside. Add onions and celery to bacon drippings; cook and stir over medium heat until tender.

3.Stir in wine; bring to boiling. Boil gently, uncovered, for 2 to 3 minutes. Stir the reserved clam juice, potatoes, bouillon granules, thyme, black pepper, and crushed red pepper into Dutch oven. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, about 15 minutes or until potatoes are tender. With the back of a fork, mash potatoes slightly against side of pan.

4.In a medium bowl stir together milk, whipping cream, and flour; add to potato mixture. Bring to a simmer; cook and stir until slightly thickened. Stir in clams and the 3/4 cup cheese. Reduce heat. Cook and stir for 1 to 2 minutes more or until heated through and cheese is melted. Sprinkle each serving with crumbled bacon and, if desired, parsley and additional cheese.

About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

