Honey Bran Muffins

From: thelazywifesguide.blogspot.com

We used to live in Utah where there was a Mimi’s Cafe, which is an ok restaurant.  The thing that I do LOVE LOVE LOVE is their Honey bran muffins.  I’ve been thinking about them for a long time and found a recipe so I figured might as well give it a try.  They were delicious!!
***

Honey Bran Muffin

Makes 12 regular sized muffins

dry ingredients:
1 cup flour
1 cup wheat bran  (I actually couldn’t find any wheat bran at the stores, so I did about a third of wheat flour, a third of wheat germ, and a third of ground flax seed).  I looked it up and you can use wheat germ or flax for a substitute.
4 tsp dry milk powder
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
“liquid” ingredients:
1/3 cup brown sugar (it called for dark, but all I had was light)
1/4 cup honey
2 Tbsp molasses
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/2 cup water
2 Tbsp grated orange zest (the orange flavor is a little overpowering, I’d probably reduce this to 1 Tablespoon or maybe even 2 teaspoons)

Glaze:
3 Tbsp sugar
3 Tbsp brown sugar, packed
3 Tbsp butter (very soft or slightly melted – I put this whole mixture on top of the fridge while I did the rest and it worked really well)
2 Tbsp honey
2 tsp water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Distribute about 1 Tbsp of the Glaze into 12 muffin tins and be sure to coat the bottom and sides of each muffin tin. (I did this just before I mixed the wet and dry ingredients so that the glaze was fairly liquid, and I just spread it evenly between all 12 tins rather than measure)
In a medium bowl mix all the dry ingredients.
In a separate bowl (I didn’t do this I just put all the wet ingredients into the middle of the dry ingredients and mixed them all together), mix the “liquid” ingredients.  Stir the liquids into the dry ingredients until just moistened.

Fill muffin tins 2/3 full, bake at 350 for 20min, until a toothpick comes out clean (be sure not to fill the muffins too full because even at 2/3rds they spring up over the tops a little.
Immediately invert the baked muffins onto foil or wax paper to cool.

Bran is the hard outer layer of a grain.  Oat and rice bran are also available. Bran can be milled from any grain: rice, corn, wheat, oats, barley and millet (rice bran comes from the layer that is removed when brown rice becomes white rice).

Bran is REALLY good for you.  Not only does it contain a great amount of dietary fiber, but also essential fatty acids, starch, protein, vitamins and minerals!  Also, it’s very filling.

About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

