Skewered Chicken Satay: Food Network

I have been craving something curry and I ran across this recipe, and knew I had to try it.  I love curry and peanut sauce so this seemed perfect.  This is suppose to be done on the grill but I just baked it in the oven and then broiled it for a couple of minutes on each side to get that grilled effect.

Marinade

  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into strips
  • 20 wooden skewers, soaked in water 30 minutes
  • Vegetable oil, for grilling
  • Fresh cilantro leaves
  • Peanut sauce, recipe follows

Directions

Combine the yogurt, ginger, garlic, and curry powder in a shallow mixing bowl, stir to combine. Place the chicken strips in the yogurt marinade and gently toss until well coated. Cover and let the chicken marinate in the refrigerator for at up to 2 hours.

Thread the chicken pieces onto the soaked skewers working the skewer in and out of the meat, down the middle of the piece, so that it stays in place during grilling.  Place the skewered chicken on a broiling pan and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes (or until chicken is done).  I rotated mine about half way through.  Then I broiled them for a minute of each side and then served.   I just served it with brown rice, and the cilantro on the side (I love cilantro and Ernie doesn’t so I just put some cut up cilantro in my peanut sauce and it was super good).

Peanut Sauce: (I cheated and just bought peanut sauce at the store, but I’m sure this is yummy)

  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons red chili paste, such as sambal
  • 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1/4 cup chopped peanuts, for garnish

Combine the peanut butter, soy sauce, red chili paste, brown sugar, and lime juice in a food processor or blender. Puree to combine. While the motor is running, drizzle in the hot water to thin out the sauce, you may not need all of it. Pour the sauce into a nice serving bowl and garnish with the chopped peanuts. Serve with chicken satay.

About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

