Coffee Chocolate Chip Cookies: Allrecipes

I like coffee flavored anything.  I would be a coffee drinker if I could (or chose to).  I read a book recently that was barely above par Key Lime Pie Murder, and in it was a bunch of different recipes which was kind of fun.  I tried a couple of them.  One of the recipes was for coffee cookies.  I realized that I didn’t write down the recipe before I returned it so I looked up a recipe on-line.  I tried it and it was pretty good.  I will say I liked them better the second day, and I wouldn’t cook them for full 10 minutes (I would say closer to 9 min).  I also used decaf coffee instead of the regular.  We had some friends over for brunch today and these were my appetizers…a morning cookie (who doesn’t love a cookie in the morning?)  If you make this tell me what you think.
  • 3/4 cup blanched slivered almonds (I just chopped up some pecans and used those and it was great)
  • 1/3 cup instant coffee granules (I got decaf)
  • 2 tablespoons hot water
  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used half milk and half semi sweet)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Toast almonds in oven for 10 minutes or until brown.
  3. Dissolve coffee in 2 tablespoons hot water. In a separate small mixing bowl mix flour, baking soda and salt.
  4. Beat butter and sugar in an electric mixer at a medium speed until fluffy. Pour coffee, vanilla and eggs into the butter mixture; mix well. Reduce mixer’s speed to low and slowly pour flour mixture into the butter mixture.
  5. Fold chocolate chips and almonds into the dough. Drop dough by teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet, 3 inches apart.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes. (I wouldn’t bake it this long otherwise they will be kind of hard and biscutty) Go for about 9 min and see whatcha think.
About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

