Creamy Green Tomato Salsa: Samantha Hayes

I’m not exactly sure what to call this, so hopefully the title will be sufficient.  My sister-in-law made this recipe this past summer and it seriously was so addictive.  I think I ate the whole bowl.  Hopefully we can find some tomatoes today to recreate the masterpiece.  It’s a fun spin on a dip and different than just putting out salsa or guacamole.
3 medium-sized green tomatoes, coarsely chopped (you can substitute yellow if you can’t find green ones, but never use red)
4 tomatillos, cleaned and chopped
1 to 2 jalapenos, stemmed and coarsely chopped
3 small garlic cloves
3 medium-sized ripe avocados, peeled, pitted and sliced
4 sprigs cilantro
1 tsp. of salt
3/4 cups of sour cream (the original recipe called for 1 1/2 cups but it was quite a lot so I’d start out with half and then if you would like to add more you always can)

Method:
Combine chopped tomatoes, tomatillos, jalapenos and garlic in a saucepan. Bring to a boil (tomatoes provide the liquid), reduce heat and simmer 10 to 15 minutes.
Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
Place tomato mixture with the avocados, cilantro and salt in food processor or blender and blend until smooth.
Pour into a bowl and stir in sour cream.

ENJOY!!!

About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Leave a Reply

