Red Pepper Pasta: Cassie Sorensen

I’ve got to give credit to my sister-in-law who is a great cook.  This is a recipe she made a couple summers ago for our family reunion.  I probably make it at least once a month.  I have a couple other recipes from her that I’m sure I’ll share…thx Cassie

1 lb. bulk mild or sweet Italian sausage (I actually double the meat b/c there’s so much pasta)
2 medium red bell peppers, julienned
1 lb. uncooked angel hair pasta
3 garlic cloves, pressed
5 1/4 cups chicken broth
1 cup fresh basil, chopped
Parmesan cheese, grated

Cook sausage in large (12 in.) skillet until no longer pink, breaking into crumbles while cooking.  Remove cooked sausage from pan and set aside.  Add uncooked pasta to skillet and toast 8-10 minutes, stirring to brown.  Press garlic over pasta and add broth, red peppers and cooked sausage.  Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat and simmer 5-6 minutes or until pasta is tender.  Stir in basil and serve with freshly grated parmesan.

*This makes A LOT!  You may want to cut the recipe in half, but still keep the sausage at 1 lb.

About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

2 responses to “Red Pepper Pasta: Cassie Sorensen

Leave a Reply

