Steak ‘Em Up Pitas: Rachael Ray

We inherited a grill from our good friend and we have been getting our grill on almost every night for the past 2 weeks.  IT IS FABULOUS!!  This is such a yummy recipe and great for grilling.  It’s something different besides hamburgers/hot dogs.  Roman even loved eating a “pocket sandwich”.
Enjoy summer grilling!!!!!
  • 1/4 cup 2% greek-style yogurt
  • 2 tbsp. mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp. prepared horseradish, drained (we don’t like horseradish so we opted out of this and it turned out great)
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped (instead of a clove of garlic, I just added some garlic salt to the mixture)
  • EVOO, for brushing
  • 2 onions, cut into 1/8-inch-thick slices, rings left intact
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 1/2 lbs. filet mignon, cut crosswise into 4 even pieces (we just used a flank steak “for braising” and it worked out great and was cheaper)
  • 4 plain pitas
  • 1 bunch spinach—stemmed, thoroughly washed and dried

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat a grill to medium. In a small bowl, mix together the yogurt, mayonnaise, horseradish and garlic.
  2. Lightly brush EVOO on the onions. Place them, rings intact, on the grill (if you have a grill topper, use it here). Season with salt and pepper, cover the grill and cook, carefully turning once, until softened and lightly charred, about 5 minutes; transfer to a bowl.
  3. Pat the beef dry and brush with EVOO; season with salt and pepper. Grill for 2 to 3 minutes per side for medium-rare. Transfer to a cutting board and let rest for 5 minutes before thinly slicing crosswise.
  4. Grill the pitas, turning once, until just warmed through but not crisp, about 1 minute. Slice off the top third of each pita and spread the insides with 2 generous tsp. of horseradish sauce, then stuff with the spinach, sliced meat and grilled onions. Finish with a dollop of the remaining sauce and serve immediately.
About melsorens

I'm a SAHM loving life with my two little goofballs. My husband is in dental school so it's really just me and my kiddies for the time being. I'm a believer in good food, I like to cook, I'm not that good but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and please let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

