Sweet & Sour Chicken: Mels Kitchen Cafe

Ok…this was pretty dang good.  Ernie said it’s a keeper so I’m putting in on here.  The only downfall is it is a little time consuming (about 1 hr) so be aware when you make this.  I wasn’t quite aware so my little guy had a sandwich for dinner instead of eating because he was too hungry.  It was well worth the wait.  Here’s the link to where I got it.  Funny it’s called Melskitchencafe.

*Note: if you like extra sauce, double the sauce ingredients – pour half over the chicken and follow the baking directions in the recipe and pour the other half in a small saucepan. Cook the sauce on the stovetop at a simmer for 8-10 minutes until it reduces and thickens. Serve it on the side of the chicken.

*Serves 4-6

Chicken:
3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Salt and pepper
1 cup cornstarch
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup canola oil

Cut boneless chicken breasts into chunks. Season with salt and pepper. Dip chicken in cornstarch and then in egg. Fry in a little oil until brown but not cooked through. Place in a single layer in a baking dish. Mix sauce ingredients (below) together and pour over chicken.

Sauce:
¾ cup sugar
4 tablespoons ketchup
½ cup vinegar
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon garlic salt

Bake for one hour at 325 degrees. Turn chicken every 15 minutes so it is evenly coated with the sauce. Serve over rice.

About melsorens

I'm a mommy who has the privilege of staying home with my three little mouths to feed and two big mouths who love to eat. I'm a believer in moderation so all of these might not be the healthiest recipes, but there is a variety and I believe in eating that way and not leaving anything out. I love good food, I like to cook, I'm not that great at it but I'm always up to try new things, share recipes and eat some more!! These are a collection of random recipes that I have in stored in a bunch of different places...this is my attempt to become more organized, so enjoy and let me know if any of these are yummy to you. View all posts by melsorens

Comments are disabled.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

